Corned Beef Stromboli

Before we moved to Minnesota, we had a house around the corner from a dive bar called Four Kegs, appropriately named because they only had four beers on draft. The Keg had been featured on Diners, Drive-Ins & Dives, and was supposedly one of Guy Fieri's favorite places. One of the things the Keg was … Continue reading Corned Beef Stromboli

Reincarnation Blues

I have to give credit to Jim Tierney, who designed the beautiful cover of this book. As for what's inside the book, I was a bit disappointed. I discovered this book in my readers' advisory class as a readalike to Shades of Grey by Jasper Fforde (which I highly recommend). It was on my immediate … Continue reading Reincarnation Blues

Booklist: Unsung Heroes of History

I was inspired to make this list after reading Jane Crow: The Life of Pauli Murray by Rosalind Rosenberg. There are a lot of people who have changed history and do not get the proper credit for their accomplishments, especially in the case of people who are female-presenting, non-binary, or of color (all of which … Continue reading Booklist: Unsung Heroes of History

After KonMari

I grew up in a family who kept everything. The closets were full. The garage was full. There were shelves upon shelves of knick-knacks and photo albums. We had decorations and kitchenware for literally every occasion. Being surrounded by this, I did the same thing. I kept everything. What if I needed it someday? What … Continue reading After KonMari

January 2019 Check-Outs

Every month, I make a list of the things I checked out from the library. It's my little protest against those who think libraries don't matter anymore. Audiobooks You're Never Weird on the Internet (Almost) by Felicia Day I love memoirs that are read by the author. I picked this book up last year and … Continue reading January 2019 Check-Outs

Booklist: Couples in History

As a married woman who is no longer in her early twenties, I am slowly becoming disillusioned with the couples in romance novels. I am more interested in the couples that stand the test of time and support each other through thick and thin. I found myself tearing up when reading about Ruth and Marty's … Continue reading Booklist: Couples in History

What I Checked Out in December

Notorious RBG: The Life and Times of Ruth Bader Ginsburg by Irin Carmon and Shana Knizhnik Audiobook narrated by Andi Arndt I checked out the audiobook and the print book. The audiobook is enjoyable, but I recommend the print book because of the supplemental images and the annotations to RBG's court opinions. Nevertheless, We Persisted: … Continue reading What I Checked Out in December

A Guide to Regency Romance

The official Regency Era lasted only between 1811 and 1820, when George IV served as Prince Regent of the United Kingdom. Novels that fall into the category of "Regency Romance" do not always take place in these 9 years. They can take place as early as the American Revolution and as late as the beginning … Continue reading A Guide to Regency Romance

What I Checked Out in November

  The Sioux Chef's Indigenous Kitchen by Sean Sherman and Beth Dooley has some amazing and authentic recipes that I used to make our Thanksgiving dinner this year. I highly recommend looking into tribes that are indigenous to your area and learning about their cuisine. It was a much healthier alternative to a traditional Thanksgiving meal. … Continue reading What I Checked Out in November

Teen Hackathon 2018

Washington County Library had their first Hackathon yesterday, November 3rd. It started out with being a small team project and ended up becoming a huge endeavor. Our administrative team helped a lot with the logistics of planning the actual event and setting up for it the day before/morning of. They also took care of the … Continue reading Teen Hackathon 2018